Don’t Tell Anyone, but My Mom Hates Frida

Mom's Visit To NYC - Cloisters and Botanical Gardens 2015-07-04 234

My mother is a Spanish teacher with a green thumb, so when I found out that there would be a Frida Kahlo exhibit at the New York Botanical Garden while she was in town I was really excited.  However, when we got there, I realized she was not.

After about 15 minutes in a long line to see the paintings, my mother confessed she didn’t really care for Frida’s work. She hadn’t even seen the 2002 movie Frida with Salma Hayek. At that point, I admitted to myself what I’d probably known all along: Frida’s paintings were too edgy for my mom. I also realized why she hadn’t seen the movie. Frida was a hot mess! My mom has no patience for that kind of thing. I, on the other hand, love a hot mess. I immediately vowed to see the movie, but I didn’t tell my mom. Instead, I said this: “Then what are we doing in this line?!”

Mom's Visit To NYC - Cloisters and Botanical Gardens 2015-07-04 225

Mom's Visit To NYC - Cloisters and Botanical Gardens 2015-07-04 231

I ushered our group out to see the Frida garden exhibit at the Haupt Conservatory, which was something my mom could totally get behind.

Mom's Visit To NYC - Cloisters and Botanical Gardens 2015-07-04 283    Mom's Visit To NYC - Cloisters and Botanical Gardens 2015-07-04 268  Mom's Visit To NYC - Cloisters and Botanical Gardens 2015-07-04 256Mom's Visit To NYC - Cloisters and Botanical Gardens 2015-07-04 250 Mom's Visit To NYC - Cloisters and Botanical Gardens 2015-07-04 267        Mom's Visit To NYC - Cloisters and Botanical Gardens 2015-07-04 241

The Frida garden exhibit wasn’t quite as dazzling as the orchid show earlier this spring.  However, we still had a very good time.  I have since watched Frida the movie, which was better than I expected.  Now, we just have to go back to the New York Botanical Garden and see those paintings we missed.  Luckily, the exhibition runs through November 1, 2015.  (You still have time to see it too!)

Mom's Visit To NYC - Cloisters and Botanical Gardens 2015-07-04 183

4 thoughts on “Don’t Tell Anyone, but My Mom Hates Frida

  1. Art has a lot to do with taste. Some like Frida, some not. In a way I like her, in another not. But anyway, she was a very beautiful, fascinating, talented woman, and I loved the movie.

    Like

Leave a Reply

