Dead Pigeons…and other ways to say welcome to the neighborhood

One day last fall, as I was walking to the community garden, I passed a couple of guys with spray cans on the sidewalk.  Being the nosy Nancy that I am, I asked them as charmingly as possible what they were doing.  They said they were hired by the city to beautify the wall with a mural.  I told them, “That’s fantastic!” and carried on my way.  A few days later, I happened upon the wall again, and this is what I saw.

Jersey City - Flowers and Street Art 2014-10-04 033

Jersey City - Flowers and Street Art 2014-10-04 035 Jersey City - Flowers and Street Art 2014-10-04 038 Jersey City - Flowers and Street Art 2014-10-04 039

Dying pigeons?  My best interpretation is that this is God killing pigeons with flower power.  This is a strange way to say welcome to the neighborhood, which is not to say I don’t approve.  On the contrary, this is EXACTLY the kind of thing I approve of.  What’s your interpretation?  I’m dying to know.

Jersey City - Flowers and Street Art 2014-10-04 055

14 thoughts on “Dead Pigeons…and other ways to say welcome to the neighborhood

    1. I hope so! I’m all about local government, but if this was approved… I’m just not sure what to think, mostly because large chunks of peeling pink paint covered the sidewalk less than one week after they painted this.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. They are doing the same thing in the city I live in. A bunch of walls are being painted with murals. The mural in your post is certainly interesting. If you flip the picture upside down you can see the figure seems to have two faces, one on top and one on the bottom. I think the flowers are like alcohol and the birds are getting drunk and falling down.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I think they were studying for the Graffiti 101 final at the local community college art department. They both received B minus after this paint-up preparation, Wormy. It’s bright but not bold enough in my book.

    Like

Leave a Reply

