A Life without Tomatoes Is Not a Life Worth Living…Unless It’s with You

A few years ago I was diagnosed with LPR.  What that means is that I’ve had a sore throat almost every day for the last six years or so.  When I found out what I needed to do to fix the problem, I was mortified.  I would have to put the top of my bed on stilts and sleep at a 10 to 20 degree angle.  More importantly, I would have to give up ALL of my favorite things:

Stress

Tomatoes

Coffee

Tea

Wine

Beer

Garlic

Onions

Limes

Lemons

Oranges

Mint

Yogurt

Sichuan peppercorns

Etc.

Needless to say, I’ve never completely followed my doctor’s orders because a life without tomatoes just isn’t worth living.  I could say the same thing about coffee and a few other things on this list.  I’ve cut back on the things that bother me the most and reached somewhat of an equilibrium.  If I can’t cure myself, I’m happy with where I’m at.  However, what if I could cure myself?

The thought nags me from time to time.  LPR can cause permanent damage.  I used to sing, and I’ve pretty much lost my voice.  Also, over time, LPR might cause cancer.  So from time to time, I think about just doing it, just giving up all those things, at least as an experiment.

wpid-sketch22004113.png

Around Christmas, I decided I would do it this year; I would do it at Lent.  I’m not Catholic, but the thought of all those Catholics giving up all those things that make them happy is motivational.  If they can do it, so can I.  Also, there is a beginning and an END.  Forty days is also an appropriate length of time for my “science experiment.”

I was all set to go it alone on my crazy 40-day diet, because why would I ask to my husband to torture himself for no reason?  But this week, as I started pulling my own stuff out the fridge, he looked a little disconcerted.  For eight years, we’ve always cooked together.

He pulled out some cookbooks we hardly ever use (Italian, Japanese) and started looking for recipes that wouldn’t contain any of the forbidden items: not an easy task.

This story is not about suffering or sickness or tenacity.  No, this story is about being the LUCKIEST, because that is how I felt when I saw my husband would rather give up a few things with me than go on enjoying them alone.

wpid-wp-1424585230744.png
In Sickness and in Health
8 thoughts on “A Life without Tomatoes Is Not a Life Worth Living…Unless It’s with You

  1. A dear friend uses keeps the head of their bed six inches higher than the foot. It’s a double whammy fix for sinus and digestive problems. Keeping black pepper out of cooking helps a lot. I use two pillows with a bolster to keep me at an incline; helps my sinus and keeps acid at minimum. Another plus – reduces swelling of the face which keeps the skin just a bit firmer longer. Glad your hubby is along for the ride on the food – strength in numbers. Wishing you both a happy healthy Lent.

    Like

  2. How wonderful. I did the candida diet recently. I’m still trying to come off of it fully and it’s been over a year. Basically with that diet all you can eat is veggies and organic chicken. I actually went into starvation mode.

    I can’t eat anything with garlic or onion, so if you need any help in that department, maybe I could suggest some things.

    Good lucky with this!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

