Face Two Terrors, Gather No Moss–or How to Roll with the Punches

Skydiving in Kansas City - Dad's 58th Birthday 2014-06-02 162
That’s not a sheep.

新年快乐!  Happy new year, everybody!  When I heard that this year was the year of the sheep, I was a little relieved.  Sheep sound so soothing, and recently I’ve been feeling anything but calm.  Bring on the year of the sheep!

Back in December, I was asked to describe my hopes for the next year in six words for another blog.  It took me a little while to settle on those six words.  It seemed like a big commitment, my hopes and dreams for an entire year in only six words…jeepers!  This is what I came up with:  “Face two terrors; gather no moss.”

As with most things around here, there is a back story.  Last year, sometime in January, I decided that 2014 was THE year.  2014 was the year I was going to face ALL of my worst fears, one by one.  I started making a list of extreme activities, I would survive over the course of 2014.

Since I was studying for the New York and New Jersey bar exams and planning to take them both simultaneously, it wasn’t hard to come up with Terror Number One.  There were three days of exams, 9 a.m. to 5 p.m., with approximately 400 miles by car between day 2 and day 3.  Did I mention one of my test sites was in Buffalo, in February?!

I survived Terror Number One, with the help of my very supportive spouse.  We rewarded ourselves with Terror Number Two:  diving with sharks in the Caribbean.  I am terrified of sharks.

We didn’t get eaten, so we thought we’d try Terror Number Three, run a marathon.  It was a pretty pathetic marathon, but we finished!

We moved on to Terror Number Four:  jumping out of a plane.  (I am also terrified of heights.)  My brothers and I had bought my dad a skydiving ticket for Christmas.  I told him that if he used it on his birthday, I’d try to come out.  I bought the ticket.  My husband wasn’t crazy about the idea.  He decided to play a game of chicken with me and bought a ticket too, only I didn’t chicken out.  We ALL jumped:  my dad, my kid brother (who was 25 and had NEVER been on a plane before), my husband, my cousin, and some other dudes in yellow shirts.

Skydiving in Kansas City - Dad's 58th Birthday 2014-06-02 158

Terror Number Five was get a REAL job.  This may not sound like a terror, but ask any child of the great recession (i.e., someone who was dumped into the market between 2009 and 2014), and they are likely to rank career-related anxiety pretty high on the list of top concerns.

I got a little hung up on Terror Number Five, and we never got to Terrors Six and Seven.  So that is what my New Year’s six-word quote is about; I’m rolling over Terrors Six and Seven into 2015.  Sometimes, you just have to roll with the punches.

The “gather no moss” is a tribute to my grandfathers, particularly to my dad’s dad who met an untimely demise.  Both of my grandfathers were rolling stones.  It seems my husband and I are too.  As I was applying for the bar exam, I realized I’d racked up about 13 addresses over the past 10 years.  All of the changes keep me on my toes, and I’m thankful for that.  (Becoming lazy, rusty or irrelevant is probably my very worst fear.)  I want to stay sharp, stay learning and not stagnate.  Change can be fun, but it’s also exhausting.  But we know what year this is!  Perhaps, I’ll just count some sheep.

4 thoughts on “Face Two Terrors, Gather No Moss–or How to Roll with the Punches

  1. Wormy, you are truly a person to behold. I bow to your passion, bravery, intelligence and bravado. And the wisdom to roll over six and seven to this year. Congratulations on 2014 well done, best wished on 2015 to come, and may the year of the sheep leave you never fleeced, my friend. No baaaaaaad news. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

