The Sleepwalker’s Guide to Dancing–Didn’t See That Coming

I went to one of novelist Aidan Donnelley Rowley‘s Happier Hours this last Tuesday in the Upper West Side, hopefully my first of many.  A Happier Hour is a book reading/cocktail party.  My, are they fun!  Jane Green and Mira Jacob were the guest speakers.  I was totally taken with the title of Mira’s new book, The Sleepwalker’s Guide to Dancing.  It’s a great title.  Also, I am a sleepwalker.  Dancing while sleepwalking would be an excellent new skill for me.  (It is also a really good novel. You should buy it!)

I really liked Mira–even though she lives in Brooklyn*.  She does all of her own illustrations for her website, which immediately put her on my ‘cool list.’  She’s also really funny.

I was thinking about all of this, when I curled up with my beautiful, newly purchased hardback last night.  I flipped the first page and saw this.

wpid-img_20150117_115630.jpg

Ha!  Well, then.

*  I have decided it’s important to have enemies. I have declared Brooklyn** and Florida to be my personal enemies (for the time being, for the purposes of this blog.)  I will let you know if that changes.

**  Brooklyn is the most likely place I will be living in five years.  I don’t want to go there, but I will.  I know this, and it makes me angry.  Brooklyn is also, as I see it, the most relevant rival to Hoboken.  Brooklyn is ostensibly cooler than anything in New Jersey and, therefore, makes a very appropriate nemesis.  I HATE BROOKLYN.  #justkiddingIloveyou

*** Rachel, should you be reading this, it’s NOT personal, even though it may seem that way.  (You are the COOLEST person from Florida that lives in Brooklyn that I know.)

7 thoughts on “The Sleepwalker’s Guide to Dancing–Didn’t See That Coming

Leave a Reply

