A Few of My Favorite Things: Lizards, Vagabonds & Tombstones

Everyone should have a spirit animal, a worst fear and a favorite cemetery.  (You can throw in a human ‘spirit animal’ for good measure, if you are into that kind of thing.)  You’ve already met my spirit animal, the Carolina anole.  I thought it was about time I introduced you to my favorite cemetery.

wpid-20141128_150050.jpg
Unitarian Church in Charleston, South Carolina, November 2014

When I first saw this cemetery, I fell in love.  I stumbled upon it while walking along a semi-secretive path that cuts through a portion of downtown Charleston.  It was summer.  The flowers, palm trees, Spanish moss and vines were completely taking over everything.  (The photo above was taken at the end of November; note, the end of November is not summer.)

It reminded me of the Secret Garden, if the Secret Garden were in a swamp.  It looked like nature was in the process of digesting all of the tombstones.  It was beautiful!  I wanted to stay there forever (well, maybe not forever) and contemplate the transitory nature of life in this crazy universe full of weird stuff.

Well, we’ve got spirit animals and favorite cemeteries out of the way…on to my absolute favorite topic, worst fears!

3 thoughts on “A Few of My Favorite Things: Lizards, Vagabonds & Tombstones

Leave a Reply

