The Joke’s on Me

Dear Comedians,

I’m sorry. I’m sorry for thinking of you like this:

wpid-wp-1416802279829.jpeg

I’m sorry for not realizing how hard this is. I’m sorry for not realizing how smart you are. In the future, I will try to remember that comedy is a craft, an art form, that requires skill, perception and smarts. I will try to remember that the truly skilled can make you forget that entirely.

Sincerely,

the worm keeper


I recently watched a video of Allie Brosh reading her book Hyperbole and a Half at a Google Talk.  I was surprised how smart she was and how together she looked.  She looked great.  She was well-spoken.  This surprised me because I’d always imagined her as a small, deranged alien-child with shark-fin hair.  Then, I thought, “Of course!”  That’s the trouble with comedy.  If you are really good at it, no one takes you seriously.  Of course, she was smart!  You don’t write material THAT good without being smart.

I realized I’d never taken comedians seriously, and that I probably owed them an apology.  I also worried that people will now think of me as a joke, which affirms my decision to write this blog semi-anonymously.  Anyway, if you’ve never thought about it before, I encourage you to try write something funny.  It may give you new respect for an entire industry.

Nano Poblano

NaBloPoMo_November

9 thoughts on “The Joke’s on Me

Leave a Reply

