That’s Just Irresponsible

We moved to the city last fall.  My husband’s cousin, a New York native, welcomed us with open arms.  She declared, “You are going to LOVE it.  Winter is the BEST season in New York!”  That was about as irresponsible as the time my junior high math teacher came to class one day and said in all sincerity, “These are the best days of your lives!”

wpid-2014-11-03-22.30.45.png.png

The aforementioned statement would have been an irresponsible thing to say to a bright-eyed F.O.B. South Carolinian in New York City in ANY year.  However, last year was not any year.  If you recall, last winter was Snowpocalypse 2014.  Needless to say, the entire family had some adjusting to do.

wpid-wp-1414114631399.jpeg

Somehow, we made it through the winter.  I was VERY relieved to find out come spring that winter was not the best season in New York.  Summer rolled around, and I thought, “No, not even close.  Winter is the definitely the worst season.”  There was only one problem with summer.  I couldn’t really enjoy it.  Even as I sat on the beach in a sundress, there was this one little thought nagging me ALL day, EVERY day.

Winter is Coming

NaBloPoMo November 2014

19 thoughts on “That’s Just Irresponsible

  1. Hahaha! I have not experienced winter in New York but I’m pretty sure it’s not the best season to be in the city 😝 I experienced my worst winter in small town UK and it was… Not fun

    Like

      1. I’m in Cleveland. I’m not generally one to complain about things you can’t control (weather), but after last winter, I had more than one daydream about just driving my car right into the lake. Ergh.

        Like

  2. Okay, you are truly funny and a great writer. Do you do all the drawings? Hilarious! Sorry to laugh at the pain of your gum grafting but I did. I couldn’t help myself…anyway I once had a whippet named Honey. What a sweet dog. Keep up the good work!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. It takes a special sense of humor to adopt a greyhound, which is why I like you already! The smaller the greyhound, the more “specialness” is required. (Mine are oversized-micro, in case you were wondering.) Anyway, THANKS! I can’t tell you how much this means to me. When my best friend reads my posts, she sends her condolences. My immediate reaction to her sympathetic response is to do a face-plant into my right palm. I would MUCH rather get a text saying “HA! HA!” than a text saying “I’m so sorry!” Please, please laugh away! 😀

      Like

    2. Oh, I almost forgot. Up to this point, everything on the blog with the exception of one guest post (by our worm factory benefactor) is my original work product. I take the photos, draw the illustrations, do the photoshop or whatever. My goal is to keep everything on the website original, with occasional contributions by some of my friends.

      Like

      1. I’m sure I have a picture or two…somewhere, from the mid 1980’s. She was a very sweet girl. I love the expression you get from your drawings. mischievous, clever, yet understated and simple = hilarious. Do you use an app or some other software for your drawings?

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Summer is great there, too:

    Shall I compare thee to a summer’s day [in New York]? Thou art more lovely and more temperate [a-dur]. . . . Sometime too hot the eye of heaven shines [upon fermented garbage that spilleth upon yonder sidewalk], And often is his gold complexion dimmed [by vapors belch’d forth from chariots of yellow]. . . .

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Miami has 4 seasons: winter kinda hot, spring get ready for it to get really hot, summer which is unmercifully hot and fall back to kinda hot. The seasons here also have great changes in flora color. It is green in winter, green in spring, green in summer and green in fall. Thanks visit my blog.

    Like

Leave a Reply

